The Water Quality Technical Advisory Committee is a subcommittee of the Madison Water Utility Board. The committee is made up of technical experts who advise staff and the board on current and emerging water quality issues. Committee members are chosen by Madison Water Utility leadership based on their technical expertise. Non-member subject matter experts are sometimes invited to present about a particular topic or participate in discussions.

Over the years, the committee has discussed issues such as wellhead protection planning, water treatment policies, radium occurrence and mitigation, and unregulated contaminants like PFAS (Per and Polyfluoroalkyl Substances).


The committee generally meets one to four times annually on Monday at 5:00 p.m.

Please visit the Water Quality Technical Advisory Committee meeting webpage for information about upcoming meetings.
Meetings are open to the public, but there is not a public comment period.

Current Committee Members:

Dr. Henry Anderson – WI Division of Public Health (ret)
Greg Harrington – University of Wisconsin (civil and environmental engineering)
Sharon Long – WI State Laboratory of Hygiene (ret) (microbiology)
Jocelyn Hemming – WI State Laboratory of Hygiene (aquatic toxicology)
Gary Krinke – WI State Laboratory of Hygiene (radiochemistry)
Janet Battista – WI Dept of Natural Resources (ret) (hydrogeologist)