The Food Waste Reduction Taskforce was a seven-member group, comprised of four members of the Madison Food Policy Council (MFPC) and three members of the Dane County Food Council (DCFC): Chris Brockel (MFPC), Topf Wells (MFPC), Martin Bailkey (MFPC), Ian Aley (DCFC), Alison Ahlgrim (DCFC), and Bill Warner (DCFC).

In 2014, the Mayor and Common Council directed the Madison Food Policy Council to lead a taskforce that would review city practices in the area of food waste and to identify potential partners and stakeholders that could join the city in the area of food waste reduction. Read the authorizing resolution.

The City of Madison had participated in food waste reduction and operating programs that maximized the reuse and energy production of food waste.

The taskforce reviewed city investments, programs, and procedures relating to food waste. In addition, they looked at best practices from other cities and institutions in order to develop community-wide efforts aimed at waste reduction. A report from the taskforce was created in October 2015.

MFPC Food Waste Reduction Task Force Progress Report

Progress Report - October 2015